Hope I'm not turning into a hipster

rybolt

Itinerant picture taker
Name
Paul Rybolt
I've found myself slowly going retro. Over the last year or so I've found myself moving farther away from the automation in the cameras. When the Nikon F3 came out I started shooting aperture priority. With the Leicas and the medium format cameras I still used meters but if automation was available I would use it.
A year ago I switched to the Fuji X cameras. I carried forward with my old shooting plan and used aperture priority. When Fuji did the firmware update that included Preview Exposure in Manual I thought I'd try it. Pretty soon I was hooked. Going back to full manual exposure has given me one more tool that I didn't have. I find myself previsualizing a scene much more than I did. Last week I picked up all three of the Sigma Merrill cameras. The manual exposure works a little different than the Fujis but it is pretty intuitive.
At this point I don't see myself going back to automated exposure. I still use AF due to age and failing eyesight but the deliberation that I'm taking in setting exposure is carrying forward to paying more attention to the focus.
Pretty cool stuff. My enjoyment level is increasing every time I go shooting.

Maybe an aging hipster?:D

I think you've returned to your roots, as many of us do...(cue Lion King Music) in the circle of life.

My first camera was the Olympus OM-1...my first digital was the Olympus Pen, then the Leica X, now the Fuji X100. That said, I admit that I do use the histogram quite a bit and also must have autofocus due eyesight.

Most importantly is the "enjoyment level is increasing every time I go shooting".:drinks: