Fuji X-E1 EVF display of camera setting effects

seukel

Rookie
This might actually be a stupid question for some, but I am new to EVF's and did not find an answer elsewhere. I am coming from the Pentax DSLR-world with OVF's only.

My questions is: Does the viewfinder on the X-E1 show you what the sensor sees and what the final image will look like? For instance, does the viewfinder image get brighter or darker when you change your exposure manually or do exposure compensation (like the liveview on the Pentax K5)?

BTW I am eagerly waiting for the X-E1 to be available in Sweden.

Thanks

Based on my X100 which I assume is the same, yes. When you (for example) set the camera to b&w, the EVF is too. Ditto the EV comp wheel ... +1 brightens it too, etc. Having said that, I can still have manually changed the shutter settings to a point where a picture will come out too bright or too dark and the EVF won't show you it's coming, but how could it? There's no shutter aspect to the EVF.

KillRamsey said:
Based on my X100 which I assume is the same, yes. When you (for example) set the camera to b&w, the EVF is too. Ditto the EV comp wheel ... +1 brightens it too, etc. Having said that, I can still have manually changed the shutter settings to a point where a picture will come out too bright or too dark and the EVF won't show you it's coming, but how could it? There's no shutter aspect to the EVF.

Just had the XE1 for one day, and that seems to be exactly the case. It's not a WYSIWYG EVF like the OMD. I wish Fuji would make that an option for the user.

I just picked up my XE1 from the table, looked through the EVF and spun the EV dial up to +2 and back down to -2 and the EVF indeed gets brighter and darker.

It's not a WYSIWYG EVF like the OMD. I wish Fuji would make that an option for the user.