thnx for welcoming me

coyote

Regular
Name
eric
hey kids,

been a working pro photog for 40+ years.

always carried around DSLR kits with fast primes for the vast majority of my work, but 10-plus years ago i also carried a mini film camera as back-up & grab/street images (my fav was the old Minox 35 series).

haven't cared much for the mini digital cameras until i recently picked up a sony rx100. i am impressed!!!! now thinking about adding a fuji x20.

suddenly my old nikon kit seems incredible heavy and large.

so here i am, ready to learn from you folks who take these smaller cameras "seriously".

thnx everyone,

eric
aka: coyote
(in eastern oregon)

thank you luke.

ok, here's one of our ponies on the ridge right above the house (taken with nikon dslr unfortuately):

Horses-on-ridge-winter.jpg

using my sony rx100, here's a snapshot of my wife getting ready to go to work:

Patti-horseback-Jan-2012.jpg

Welcome! I'm only a part time working photographer and I do my art photography and sell a few prints but I'm far from "professional" -- making my living from it. Uh... if I did I'd be a much thinner man, lol.

I just picked up (like yesterday) a little Panasonic LX7 and I'm already digging it. The RX100 is even better (except maybe for controls but that doesn't bother many folks) and I'm sure you're having a blast.

This forum and the micro four thirds one are exceptionally well moderated and the members are a cut above in terms of civil dialog, IMO.

Welcome!

thank you isoterica.

e.r. - the LX7 was my next best pick. nice going.

thnx so much for the warm welcome and kind comments - you guys ARE great!

fyi - i've always made a living (abet a very low income one) as a photog, buit recently expanded it into doing video and websites too. Wild Dog Studios

i live the life i've always dreamed of, so consider myself a very lucky fellow indeed.

Isn't it fantastic that you can do what you love and get paid for it too. Good for you!

+1