another recommendedation thread

daveyboy123

Hi all, I would like your advice. I have £300 to spend maximum on a compact camera. I have been a keen amateur photographer for years so I want a enthusiast compact that shoots RAW if possible. The camera has to have a good auto mode as my wife will also be using it as a point and shoot. The smaller the better so it will fit in her handbag! The main reason to buy now is a trip to Vegas in May and I don't want to be lugging my old DSLR around. I don't need a super zoom necessarily. I was almost sold on the canon s110 for its pocketability and I have seen positive reviews. The s110 seems unpopular with many on this forum though? There are other options-Fuji xf1/x10/Pano LX7....so.....what's the best compact for the money?

Any advice gratefully received

Dave

I don't know what the prices are in the U.K. versus the U.S., but a number of cameras come to mind and you've already mentioned some of them. The Panasonic LX7 punches above its weight, has an extremely fast zoom lens and is a joy to use. I just bought one myself as a daily go-to camera because the price dropped below $300 here in the States.

You certainly can't go wrong with the Fuji X10 if you can find one in your price range. The camera's sensor is a bit bigger than most of the competition (but not as big as that in the more-expensive Sony RX100) and the built-in viewfinder is great to have when you're shooting in bright sunlight. Plus it's a beautiful, cool camera. The XF1 is a decent little camera as well but its lens isn't nearly as fast as the X10's.

The Olympus XZ1. This camera is a bit older then the others but still does good work up to ISO 800. Its fast lens helps you keep the ISO settings low.