Ricoh 1st Ricoh GR outing this Saturday. Advice needed.

Tom K.

Regular
Name
Tom
I am brand new to the Ricoh digital camera line. Just got my new GR and can't wait to do street photography with it. I have been using the Sony RX100 where my results have been very good for my taste anyway. My Flickr photostream featuring many of those images is here: Flickr: Tom Kaszuba's Photostream

Anyway......I really feel like either snap mode or Tav looks like the best way to get deep depth of field while being ale to quickly grab photos. I like to shoot at 1/500 of a second at the very minimum in very good light. I am thinking that if I shoot f/8 at 1/500th of a second it will give me a deep depth of field. I don't want to use autofocus as I do most of my work shooting from the hip. Should I go with snap focus of just manual focus on something 6 feet away and lock that down, which coupled with f/8 @ 1/500th of a second shutter would eliminate motion blur, give me deep depth of field and the ability to shoot from the hip quickly and have tack sharp images.

This stuff confuses me sometimes. Any advice on this would be most welcome.

Also.....I put the Ricoh GR into the on-line DOF calculator and with the large sensor depth of field is MUCH narrower than with my Sony RX100. I hope I don't run into problems with too shallow depth of field.

What do you think folks. I'm all ears.