Small Sensored Cameras: More Viable Than Many Think

Biro

Hall of Famer
Name
Steve
Since the name of this site is Serious Compacts, I'm sure many of us have wrestled with the appeal of certain smaller-sensored cameras and, at the same time, concern that image quality may not be good enough. Ctein directly addresses this issue in a piece he has written for Mike Johnston's The Online Photographer:

Small Format Professionalism

There are, of course, two legitimate issues with smaller-sensored cameras: Very high ISO work (although that point keeps getting higher) and deep depth of field (if you don't want it). But Ctein's article reminds me of a lot of things I already knew but tended to forget or ignore in recent years. Thoughts?

I don't buy it.

In good light, they're good enough. But for a lot of my shooting, the light is miserable. I am an available light photographer. I would guess that less than 10% of the photos I have taken in the last couple years are under ISO800...... and a healthy portion of them are 3200 and up.

Yes, small sensor cameras keep getting better all the time, and sure you can make large prints from a landscape photo taken in full daylight.

But then if his post were a little more forthright about the limitations in which a small sensor camera were good enough, it wouldn't get as many hits.

Interesting read, but in the end I think just about anyone would pick a bigger sensor if they could. It's all about compromise.