Canon My initial impressions of the Canon G3X

Jock Elliott

Hall of Famer
Motivation

Perhaps the best place to start is why I was interested in the Canon G3X to start with. After all, I am pretty darned happy with my Panasonic FZ200 superzoom and my Panasonic LX100. They are my “two camera solution” – one for its 25-600mm (e) reach, and the other for its see-in-the-dark 4/3 sensor and fast lens. Both fit in a relatively small LL Bean shoulder bag and weigh less than a DSLR and a couple of lenses.

Three things twigged me to look at the G3X. The first is that I am an opportunistic photographer. When the better half and I go for walks, I take a camera. If wildlife, a glorious sunset, or marvelous cloud structure appear, I try to take pictures of them. In my view, when it comes to wildlife, there is no such thing as too much reach. The longer the lens you have available, the better. But at the same time, I’m not willing to carry a DSLR and a 150-600 zoom lens on the off-chance of a wildlife shot.

A couple of years ago, I encountered an interesting concept for evaluating sensor/lens combinations for reach. It was called “figure of merit” and it says “square the equivalent focal length of the lens and multiply it by the number of pixels in the sensor. So, for the FZ200: 600 x 600 x 12 = 4.3 million. For the G3X: 600 x 600 x 20 = 7.2 million. A bigger number translates to more reach, but says nothing about the quality of the pixels. Bottom line, though, the G3X offered the potential of more reach.

The second motivator was that I had an episode with dust on the sensor of the FZ200. In talking with the camera repair guy, I realized that any zoom lens that moves in and out, or any lens that has to move to get into position when you turn the camera on, has the potential to suck dust into the camera. The G3X is built to be dust and splash resistant, according to Canon, and one source said it was supposed to be as dust and splash resistant as the Canon D70 DSLR.