Panasonic The FZ150 a preliminary field report

Jock Elliott

Hall of Famer
Recently I took delivery on my third (ever) digital camera, a Panasonic DMC-FZ150, and I thought I would share some of my experience so far. There have been many excellent reviews of the FZ150 on the web, and I won’t attempt to duplicate those.

But first, some background: I am a fulltime freelance writer who sometimes shoots photos to illustrate my stories on the web or in magazine. For eight years, I shot with an Olympus D-550 and had hundreds of pictures published that were shot with the Olympus (a 3 megapixel camera). About 18 months ago, I purchased a Canon G12, which I still have and use professionally. While the G12 has a lot of advantages over the D-550, the main reasons for the purchase were the larger viewscreen and the manual controls.
I purchased the FZ150 primarily for its 25-600 (equivalent) zoom lens. I flirted briefly with various SLR and non-mirrored system cameras, but ultimately decided that an all-in-one camera best suited my style as an “opportunistic” photographer. As one seriouscompacts member neatly put it: carry a camera everywhere and see what happens.
The FZ150 is bigger (4.89 x 3.20 x 3.74 inch vs. 4.41 x 3.00 x 1.90 in.) than the G12 and heavier (about 1.1 lbs vs. .75 lbs) than the G12. If you go to Camera Size Comparison you’ll see that the FZ150 is noticeably smaller than most SLRs and many other superzoom cameras. The FZ150 has a slightly smaller sensor and has a lower DXOmark rating (40 vs. 47 for the G12).

The FZ150 is bulkier than the G12 and less easy to carry. It can’t be easily slipped under an overshirt when powered down. It does, however, shine at both ends of the zoom spectrum. The 25mm wide allows me to grab more sky for my skyscapes and the 600mm tele allows me to reach out and touch wildlife.