advice on replacing an aging craptop

Luke

Legend
Name
Luke
Hi all. I'm not a techie by any stretch of the imagination, and I don't want to become one and waste a couple days researching laptops. My theory about computers is that since I don't demand much from them, I don't spend a lot on them. Every 3 or 4 years, it's about time to upgrade or replace anyways, so why spend a ton.

So to those of you who follow along with where the deals are, if you were looking to buy a cheapo Windows laptop (the one I'm using now was around $350 four years ago and while it's no world beater it's still robust enough to run Photoshop, Lightroom and do what little I expect of it), what would you get?

So I don't need anything really any better....Moore's law should take care of that already just from the calender turning over, but it's getting a little old and I'd rather replace it on my time schedule than wait until it dies and rush into something.

Thanks in advance for your time and suggestions.

No size or weight requirements. 17" seems like a decent size, but I'm using a 15" now and that seems fine as well. Maybe a 15" would actually be better since it barely fits on the end table by the couch. Hadn't even thought about that.

The problem (IMHO) is that most cheap 15" models saddle you with the low-res 1366x768 screen. My lappy is the same Dell Vostro 1500 I bought 5 years ago, primarily because the res is 1440x900 and too get a new one that matches that resolution would cost too much.

What are the specs of your current laptop?

I hesitate to say this, given the word "cheap" being bandied about... but why not go Mac? 13" Macbook Air is $1199 and has 1440x900. The Macbook Pro "Retina" is another option with high resolution (and a much higher price, of course). The thing is, any decent screen is going to cost a lot. That's why the cheapo PCs dont have them.