And hello from Belgrade also

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by pictogramax, Nov 3, 2011.

1. pictogramax

pictogramax SC Top Veteran

Aug 18, 2011
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Hi everybody,

sorry for not doing this earlier. I have been an active lurker for quite a while and decided to became a little bit of an active member recently. I live in Belgrade, Serbia; I am a graphic designer by formation but I mostly draw comics and illustrations for years professionally.

Photography has been a part of my life for maybe ten years or more, but those were just the purest point&shoot images, in the most direct meaning of the word. I was just taking those pictures as a reference, didn't pay any attention to exposure, light or composition, just tried to stuff in as much as I could, to "digest" and re-use later in my drawings.

It was when my daughter was born, almost 5 years ago, and I was trying to capture the gentle beauty of our newborn, when photo-virus struck me. It was january, indoors low-light and everything I got was a blurry mess:-( Up to that time I used to shoot outside in daylight and everything worked fine on "auto":)

So I started educating myself on basics of exposure, mainly on DPR. And while a learned a lot there, and check regularly to see what's new on a technical side of development, a certain atmosphere of "adoring sharp pixels" (as someone put it well over there recently), made me lust for a different forum.

Here I found a community that I feel is committed more to actual content of an image than to dissecting noise levels in blue channel at ISO 139.700.000:) And I prefer it that way.

For those that might be interested, here are my links:

pictogramax - mondes dessines

Flickr: Milan Jovanovic /pictogramax's Photostream

• Like Like x 5
  2. BBW

BBW Administrator Emeritus

Jul 7, 2010
    betwixt and between
    BB