Micro 4/3 E-P1 vs E-PL2 initial thoughts...

Djarum

All-Pro
Name
Jason
So I've been shooting an E-P1 exclusively for the last two years. I've been using the Kit collapsable lens, the 17mm pancake, and the 4/3 40-150 with an adapter. Over the last two years, I've found that I really do like the images the camera makes. Most of my quibbles about the camera over the last two years have been mainly tied to the slow AF and ergonomic issues. My hand cramps and gets tired after long use with the E-P1. I have a large hand and there just isn't enough grip for my beefy hands to get comfortable with. I've also been having issues with the E-P1 just stop doing live view and AF. I love the verticle thumbdial and the overall operational side of the camera.

When the E-P3 came out, I thought, this will be my next camera. As the E-PL2 prices were starting to fall, I started to look at what the E-P3 offer at the current price versus the bargain basement prices of the E-PL2. For the price of the E-PL2 and a 20mm(which I desperatly need to get), we are pushing the current E-P3 price territory. So this time I decided not to be an early adopter, and take advantage of E-PL2 closeouts. Keep in mind I know I am giving up the nice touch screen and the blazing AF. My main motivation for purchasing the E-PL2 in general are as follows: less expensive than E-P3, added VF-2/3 functionality compared to the E-P1, built in flash, better grip for me, and supposedly better screen(I'll get to that in a minute).

I ended up getting a red E-PL2 with the 14-42 II kit lens. Lets get to my thoughts:

Build Quality