Micro 4/3 EPM2 Long Exposure with Live Time

Stan

Regular
Name
Stan
Hi all -- I'm new to SC, and happy to have found a lively group of people interested in photography with small cameras!

I've been enjoying shooting with an EPM2 the past few months. (In the past I have had the G1, EP3, GH2, and GX1, and have been using M43 for nearly 4 years.). Here's a micro micro43rds review of the "live time" feature in current Pens and the OMD... In fact, one of the main reasons why I chose one of the latest Oly bodies is Live Time. Figuring out long exposures with ND filters or in dark conditions can be challenging in fading or changing light conditions. So live time comes to the rescue. I use the Olympus RM-UC1 cable release in live time. Press the button. Wait for the screen to look good, and press the button again. Done. It's almost cheating.

Cayucos Pier
8663028555_a81b346229_b.jpg

"Moonbow" at Lower Yosemite Falls. The Oly 17/1.8 snap manual focus and live time were fantastic features here in this night shot. I set the focus to infinity. Framed the shot (which was barely visible on the screen due to darkness), and used live time to get the exposure right after waiting for the clouds to move past the moon. If there was more mist, then the moonbow would have been continuous.

8607352034_b85a1cdb57_b.jpg

Welcome to SeriousCompacts!, and congrats on your E-PM2!
The moonbow shot is really fantastic! Quite remarkable also, to see how much the reflected moonlight looks like regular sunlight if you just capture enough of it!

Stan, Welcome!

When I PM'd you this morning elsewhere, I didn't realize you'd already started posting here on SC. Good to see you. You should check in at MU-43 also if you haven't already, particularly with this thread...

So, about Live Time... I've had an OMD for over a year now and I recall reading about this feature before I bought the camera but I've never tried it. Or even really ever FOUND it. So, a couple of questions: