Foodies

Discussion in 'The Watering Hole' started by Gary, Apr 4, 2013.

1. Gary

Gary SC All-Pro

Aug 19, 2012
    Southern California
    Gary Ayala
    Hey, listen up. I've been storing these Cedar planks for about six months. I finally remembered I had them and grilled some salmon on the plank. It was absolutely wonderful (period). The next time you BBQ/Grill, I highly recommend using a plank.

Gary

2. Djarum

Djarum SC All-Pro

Jul 10, 2010
    Huntsville, AL
    Jason
    Excelent tip Gary. I used to have a supply of food quality planks, but they no longer carry them. I'm not sure where to get them anymore, maybe online?

3. Luke

Luke Super Moderator

Nov 11, 2011
    Milwaukee, WI USA
    Luke
    I love the smell of cedar, but am not sure I want my food to taste like it. I'm always a little unsure, but I'll give it a try.

4. Gary

Gary SC All-Pro

Aug 19, 2012
    Southern California
    Gary Ayala
    Well worth the additional effort. I used Cedar because that was what for sale in the store. You can use other woods. This time I soaked the plank in water. Next time possibly wine maybe even beer, or water with some flavoring like sage or basil. On the Salmon I toss on top some Rosemary branches and lemon slices. Ultimately, some of the Rosemary smoked up so I had Rosemary/lemon from the top and Cedar oils from the bottom. I threw on a light Salmon rub too. A fresh salad clipped from the garden, a bit of steamed rice and this absolutely wonderful Chardonnay, (Discoveries), and Viola! You guys need to stop on by, to explore my little wine frig.

G

5. Gubrz

Gubrz O.* Gonzo's & Bentley's Dad

Jun 5, 2012
    Austin, TX
    Eliot
    party at gary's!!!!!!

6. Gary

Gary SC All-Pro

Aug 19, 2012
    Southern California
    Gary Ayala