Fuji Fujifilm X-S1 - is it worth buying

hannahntilly

Veteran
Name
Peter
I've noticed that the X-S1 is being heavily discounted in the UK currently to about £250. That's about 1/3 of the introduction price.

I have a couple of the older m4/3 bodies including a G1 and my longest focal length is the 14-45mm zoom. Not sure if I'd be better off getting a long zoom for my m4/3 body - maybe a 45-200 or 100-300. However, these are retailing at £250 and £420 currently and only the latter would give equivalent range.

I'm a photographer of limited means so value is important to me and I like a bargain (together with the best image quality for my £££s). The other downside might be the size of the Fuji. I'm keen on smaller cameras. Would anyone with experience of the XS-1 care to comment? I'm more than happy with X10 image samples I've seen in reviews and on forums so would be happy if the X-S1 is indeed similar Thanks,

I think it comes down to which trade-offs are acceptable to you.

The IQ from a Lumix 100-300 or Oly 75-300 is definitely a step above what the Fuji can give you.

But not needing to change lenses is also a plus. When I originally had the X-S1, I was dissatsified with the IQ in relation to the m43 cameras and couldn't justify keeping it. I no longer have a m43 set-up and recently picked up a Fuji HS50EXR (a different superzoom) because I decided I could live with the hit to IQ, but wanted some tele reach on a budget.

If you've seen the samples from the X10 and X-S1 and are happy with them, it's a great all-rounder.....especially at the recent price levels. But if you're tempted to pixel peep and don't mind changing lenses (which may not be an issue if you shoot with 2 bodies), I think the results with the m43 cameras are appreciable better.