Olympus Good Lenses for Olympus OMD

IamPain13

Rookie
Hi guys,

I recently purchased the Olympus OMD EM 5 and it's a wonderful camera. I'm still new to photography and learning so i don't understand much about lenses and what they can do. I have 14-42mm kit lense that came with the camera. My question is that is this a good lense for Portraits, Landscape and Street photography? I do a lot of traveling and like to take pictures of sceneries with family members in it. I've seen a lot of lenses for sale online but not sure which i should get next.

Anyone can suggest a good lense for these types of photography and where to get them I would really appreciate it.

Thanks for looking

Do I understand you correctly that you're looking for one lens to do all three? If that's the case, one of the kit lenses will probably be the only option that gives you that kind of versatility. I'm surprised it didn't come with the 12-50mm olympus, by the way, but that's another matter.

Kit lenses are developed to be jacks-of-all-trades, doing everything at least decently. I don't know how good the various kit lenses are compared to each other, but I don't think you'll get significantly better results by changing from one kit lens to another.

If you want the best possible portraits, or the best possible landscapes, or best possible street, you're better off looking for a more specialized lens. For portraits: panasonic 25/1.4 or 45/1.8, or olympus 75/1.8 although that's longer than usual for a portrait lens; for landscapes you could think about the Panasonic 7-14 or the Olympus 12/2 or 9-18; bear in mind that you can also take excellent landscape shots at longer focal lengths too; for street, you could think about the panasonic 14/2.5 or 20/1.7 (although the latter doesn't seem to gel with the OM-D very well) or perhaps the olympus 9-18.