Hello from faraway, exotic Troy NY

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by Jock Elliott, Jan 3, 2012.

1. Jock Elliott

Jock Elliott SC All-Pro

Jan 3, 2012
    Troy, NY
    I have been a professional writer for 40 years and a fulltime freelancer for the past 15 years.

I write mostly for high tech and medical organizations, but I also have written under my own byline for a number of magazines.

I write a weekly blog for Airguns of Arizona - Precision Air Rifles, Airgun, Pistols, Pellets and shoot photos to illustrate my blog, which you can find here: Airguns of Arizona Blog | Weekly airgun reports from airgunners to airgunners!

When I was a kid, I shot photos for the school paper with a Leica and Tri-X. I took some photography in college and still have a collection of Pentaxes moldering in a drawer. I even have an Olympus IS-3 (a fixed lens 35-180 35mm SLR).

But here's the thing: those big cameras never go anywhere because it is too big a pain to haul them around.

About 8 years ago, I bought my first digital camera, an Olympus D-550, and I have had literally hundreds of pictures from that camera published. A year ago, I wanted a bigger viewing screen and additional capabilities, so I bought a Canon G12. My ideal camera would be like a G12 with APS-C sensor, a manual control each for shutter and aperture, and easy manual control (if I wanted it) of zoom and focus.

I just discovered this forum the other day, and it seems like it might be my kind of place.

• Like Like x 4
  2. BillN

BillN SC Hall of Famer Subscribing Member

Aug 25, 2010
    S W France
    Bill
    Welcome Jock "exotic Troy" sounds good - I'm sure you'll have a good time here ......... just post a few images as that's what it's all about, (IMHO)

• Like Like x 1
  3. bartjeej

bartjeej SC Hall of Famer

Nov 12, 2010
    bart
    Welcome Jock! I'm afraid it's gonna be a while before we see your dream camera on the market, but in the meanwhile, enjoy the forum!

4. BBW