1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Hi everyone

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by theoldsmithy, Jan 7, 2013.

1. theoldsmithy

theoldsmithy SC Top Veteran

Jan 7, 2013
    Herefordshire, England
    Martin Connolly
    Hi all, I've just found serious compacts. After years of following the rancorous discussions on dpreview, I find it a real breath of fresh air to see discussions that don't just degenerate into "and you smell" levels of puerile name-calling but actually offer helpful opinions.
    I have been a keen photographer for 20+ years, and my favourite cameras for the first few years were Pentax (I had an SF7 SLR, but when that died I swapped it for a 35-140 compact, can't recall the model but it was really good); then when I moved to digital I went with Canon (A20, A60, A700 and finally a G12). I've also had compacts from Fuji (F70EXR) and Sony (HX7V), and a Nikon D40 DSLR. My current gear is all Sony - an NEX-5N and an HX20V. As you can see I tend to chop and change equipment! In fact I will posting my current dilemma on here so I'm looking forward to some useful discussions. I have recently discovered the joys of software such as Luminance and Topaz Adjust. Oh, you can find my stuff on Flickr under theoldsmithy.

• Like Like x 8
  2. kyteflyer

kyteflyer ~@¿@~

Jan 31, 2011
    Newcastle, Australia
    Sue
    Welcome to the forum then, you will be in good company here, we all change our cameras (or want to) as often as the rest of the planet changes underwear. But geez its fun :) Will check yr flickr... but you could put it in a signature too, if you want :)

• Like Like x 1
  3. theoldsmithy

Jan 7, 2013
    Herefordshire, England
    Martin Connolly
    Thanks Sue, will check out your stuff too. That signature option took some finding but I've updated it now.

• Like Like x 1
  4. TraamisVOS

TraamisVOS SC Hall of Famer

Nov 29, 2010
    Melboune, Australia