I think I need some help with this

Jock Elliott

Hall of Famer
Like, I suspect, a lot of the folks here, I am constantly engaged in "foreplay" on my possible next camera purchase.

Recently I was on DPreview, comparing the G1X to some other cameras.

cameracomparison.JPG

While DXOmark rates the G1X sensor at 60, the M9 at 69, and the Olympus at 40, it seems to me that the G1X looks better than all of them, and that the XZ-1 doesn't look too bad. In other words, I don't see a close correlation between the sensor ratings and the observed results. What am I doing wrong?

Also, I've heard complaints that G1X is too big. But if you were willing to tote an M9 around all day, check this out:

Cameracomparison2.JPG

The G1X is smaller.

Anyhow, can someone straight me out on correlating sensor scores with actual images?

Disclaimer: I'm no expert on DXO, sensors, cameras, etc.

DXO supposedly rates the sensor and the sensor alone. In other words, it evaluates the RAW images produced by the sensor, and doesn't take into account the camera's JPG engine capabilities.

On the DPreview comparometer screen shot that you posted, we are looking at JPG's. I can confidently tell you that the M9's JPG engine stinks worse than a dead rotten skunk. Moreover, the M9's sensor doesn't handle high ISO noise very well and has limited dynamic range. However, what it does well is provide extremely high resolution and contrasty images. Combine that with lenses that are generally better than their counterparts, and that's why a lot of people like the M9 (other than the red dot allure).

That being said, the G1X has the newest sensor of the bunch and the latest JPG engine. It also has a near APS-C sized sensor, which is bigger than the small sensors on the X10 and XZ1.

Here's a screenshot of the RAW images at ISO800. I substituted the NEX5n for the X10 as DPR doesn't have RAW samples for the X10, and the NEX5n's sensor is generally considered one of the best.

Comparison.jpg