Fuji It does sports too

Yes it does! These are very similar to some X100 panning shots I did at a local criterium a couple of months ago. Here are a couple with the background motion blurred from panning and one of the background held still and the cyclists mere ghosts as they pass through the frame...

I wasn't smart enough to think of this in good light - I just took some very traditional stop-action sports shots which ended up being fairly boring. But as the light got low and the shutter speeds had to drop, I started playing around with the same technique you did and that's when it got interesting...

View attachment 40929

View attachment 40930

View attachment 40931

I think Russ's first B&W is pretty classic, but it sort of needs a steel bike frame and cloth cycling cap instead of a high tech carbon frame and helmet - that's the only giveaway that its not from some classic race back in the '50s or '60s.

-Ray

Ray's right, of course.

As an aside, cycling is a very photogenic sport - a bit of blur looks good. And bicycles themselves are things of beauty.

And I love Ray's first shot with the mysterious background - a mixture of motion blur and bokeh.

Man oh man! Great shots indeed the both of you!!!! :clapping: I'd never have thought I'd see an X100 documenting such an event, but the results have a better feel for the dynamism and ardour of the sport than any I've seen. I'm still a'gasp....

Wonderful, Russ! Ray, you already knew I liked yours from before.

So even though you were shooting at 1/30th of a second at f/8, Russ, in #0250, you still managed to lock on to this bicycler! Obviously you both photographed the racers very well. Can you give us a few tips?

Love the feeling of speed!

Wonderful, Russ! Ray, you already knew I liked yours from before.