1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

It does sports too

Discussion in 'Fuji X100 Forum' started by chromatin64, Sep 3, 2011.

1. Ray Sachs

Ray Sachs SC Legend

Sep 21, 2010
    Not too far from Philly
    you should be able to figure it out...
    Yes it does! These are very similar to some X100 panning shots I did at a local criterium a couple of months ago. Here are a couple with the background motion blurred from panning and one of the background held still and the cyclists mere ghosts as they pass through the frame...

I wasn't smart enough to think of this in good light - I just took some very traditional stop-action sports shots which ended up being fairly boring. But as the light got low and the shutter speeds had to drop, I started playing around with the same technique you did and that's when it got interesting...

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/20889767@N05/5921136941/" title="DSCF0467 by ramboorider1, on Flickr">"1024" height="680" alt="DSCF0467"></a>

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/20889767@N05/5921701842/" title="DSCF0421 by ramboorider1, on Flickr">"1024" height="686" alt="DSCF0421"></a>

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/20889767@N05/5925936682/" title="DSCF0497 by ramboorider1, on Flickr">"1024" height="685" alt="DSCF0497"></a>

• Like Like x 7
  2. ajramirez

ajramirez SC All-Pro

Jul 9, 2010
    Caguas, Puerto Rico
    Antonio
    Russ and Ray,

Both sets are awesome!

Cheers,

Antonio

• Like Like x 1
  3. Nice work, a few keepers there.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Lili

Lili SC Hall of Famer

Oct 17, 2010
    Dallas, TX
    Lili
    Sweet Images the both of you!

• Like Like x 1
  5. Ray Sachs

Ray Sachs SC Legend

Sep 21, 2010
    Not too far from Philly
    I think Russ's first B&W is pretty classic, but it sort of needs a steel bike frame and cloth cycling cap instead of a high tech carbon frame and helmet - that's the only giveaway that its not from some classic race back in the '50s or '60s.

-Ray