Legacy lenses - what is it about these lenses that makes you want to use them?

BBW

Legend
Name
BB
I just spotted a question by TraamisVOS over in the Photography Websites thread. Traamis, I hope you don't mind my picking up on your question and bringing it here. It's a good question and one worth mining, I think.

What was it about the legacy lenses that you liked? I'm still learning about the differences between the brands of lenses, I'm afraid I can't really see the difference yet. I can only assume it's like when I hear the difference between an upright piano and a Steinway concert grand, or maybe even between two very well made grands like say a Steinway and a Baldwin.

I know there are more than a few folks here who are, shall we say addicted, to legacy lenses...so I am hoping they'll share their thoughts here when they have time.

P.S. I will say that from what I have read, a great deal depends upon the lens in question as to whether it is going to "work" well or not. I'll let those who are experienced take over from here on out.;)

put a Contax (Carl Zeiss), Planer T* 45mm f2 on your M43 - it is a "pig" to use and the adapter is expensive and big - but the quality of the image is very good and it has it's own special look and feel

The same would can be said of quite a few RF lenses - M mount and "Leica Screw", (LTM) - the M mount adapters are simple and cheap - but again they produce a different and very pleasing image

Nikon and Canon MF glass if first class and the adapters are simple and good

There are millions of great old SLR lenses out there are very cheap prices

But I like "messing" around and the M43 fomat really have "opened the world" to the use of old "legacy" glass like nothing before - plus you have to salute HK, (the Chinese) for producing (and copying) quality adapters and other accessories at very good prices