Sigma Medium format film: compared to Foveon?

Chibikame

Hi, this is my first post. I'm a hobbyist living in Japan.

To get to the point, I'm basically something of a Foveon zealot. Since I got the DP3 Merrill, it has become incredibly hard to conceive of a superior digital camera in terms of resolution and detail short of going into D800E/top prime glass territory, and that's several times the price for what is probably only equal performance (on the resolution front of course: high ISO is another matter, but I have a Fuji X100s for that).

I also started shooting film this year (a hand-me-down Canon SLR film camera) and I enjoy it very much.

My question is simple: how does medium format film (i.e. 120) stack up against something like the DP3 in terms of resolution? Colour and so on is a different issue, because we all have different tastes. But in terms of resolution and overall IQ, even the Fuji (which is no mug with that X-Trans) doesn't get close when you really look. The Fuji is far more fun to use, but that's a separate issue.

Medium format gear is relatively affordable these days (and living in Japan, there's no shortage of access to it). I was seriously considering getting into it. However...I'm given to understand that with film in general, a lot depends on the skill of whoever develops the film. I have no experience in processing film, so with my 35mm film I have a local store do it and then they create a photo DVD for me. This works nicely, but again I'm handing over a considerable amount of creative control to the people who process the film. Not that I have a choice, because I don't know how to do it myself!

Anyway. I'm rambling. Anyone have experience with MF film and can comment on how it stacks up against the Foveon in terms of outright IQ?

All comments appreciated. Thank you!