My Photographic Life in a Single Post (or How I Came to Be a Compact Camera User)

Paul Giguere

www.paulgiguere.com
Thank you to Amin and everyone at SC for the warm welcome. I'm truly looking forward to engaging with this vibrant community of photographers. I thought I would start off with a post with some additional background about me so that you have a better sense of where I'm coming from in my approach to the camera reviews that I will post in the future.

As Amin said in his introduction, much of my focus as a photographer over the past couple of years has been in the area of social documentary photography. My formal photographic background goes back to my college days (about 26 years ago) when I made photos for the student newspaper (mostly so I could get free film and processing). When I graduated, my access to the free film and processing stopped and so my interest in photography waned as a result. I still made photos of course but not with any serious devotion, direction, or frequency.

It wasn't until I was studying for my doctorate and taking a course in visual literacy (around the late 1990's) that I realized digital cameras had advanced to the point where the quality was good enough to make the jump from film (at least for me anyway). This reignited my passion for photography again and I went out and bought a Canon D30 in 2000 (the first of several digital SLRs which culminated with the Canon 5D . . . more on this later). Within a fews years I was exhibiting in fine-art photography shows all over the United States.