Sony New Sony RX100 user looking for some tips.

sirbenski

Regular
Hello fellow shooters! I'm new to the Sony RX100 world and after much research, went ahead and purchased the Mark V.

I've been keeping an eye on the RX100 series since the Mark III but only pulled the trigger and finally bought one last week.

So far I've been very impressed with this little monster of a camera. I used to own a Nikon D90 a few years back and I must say technology has really pushed forward.

Sample photo of mine:
Fruits

I have experience with photography and fairly confident in using Manual mode but since I'm new to the Sony system, I'm a bit overwhelmed especially when it comes to video.

I know that this camera shoots great 4K video for 5 minutes at a time and that overheating on this mode is a known fact.
I also know that to get best results, shooting in S-Log is advised.

Can you guys give me some tips on how to get those crispy looking videos? Any other tips are welcome too! Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
hi mate
snap !!!!! lol
iv recently got the rx 100 v ,, iv down scaled from the canon 5d 2 ,, i got fed up dragging all the equipment around on days out and holidays , especially having two kids , well three if you count the wife lol ,,, its so much more easier ,,
what iv experienced and read about doing video on this camera, is that slog 2 is a great film format but theirs alot of post processing to be done if you really want to take advantage of it , also slog2 is not that good in low light condition , its very good in high contrast condition and being able to pull out detail in the shadows.
i dont now if youve had any experience with video editing software but you would deffo need to watch some tutorials on colour correcting slog2 ,,,, iv found the cine2 is a better format for general use and its great in low light conditions .
keep me informed how you get on as i think we could both help each over , thank you