Sony Rookie

bmw

Hi ! I'm an amateur photographer, planning to purchase a Sony RX100 M2 soon. What kind of memory card should I get ? Taking pics of everything including some sports, some short video . What speed and size do I need ? Will be travelling for up to a month at a time ? Thanks.

I use Sandisk Extreme sdhc class 10 30ms/sec, for video HD I wouldn't get any lower than class 10. Don't know what country your in but Amazon Uk are doing them for £11.83 at the moment. Bargain. Couple of them will keep you going a while

If you are shooting raw, the cards will fill up pretty quickly - I am nervous about big cards as a matter of temperament but I'd use at least 16GB for raw and I'm actually using 32GB.

I did some continuous shooting comparisons with 95mbps read/write and 45mbps read/write SanDisk cards and found no advantage with the faster card, and I would guess that the camera can't actually write at speeds fast enough to take full advantage of even the 45mbps card; I'd guess it maxes out at 30mbps, as long as that is both the write speed and the read speed (not all Xmpbs cards actually write at the same speed they read, which is often the advertised speed).

Buy from a very reputable source - there are a lot of counterfeit cards out there. :(

Welcome to the forum BMW! You got yourself a nice camera there! Looking forward to seeing your photos.

I'd get the fastest possible card that is still reasonably priced. The problem with SD cards is the nomenclature used to describe performances: class 12, 40x, 45 mbps, etc... I still have a hard time figuring out what's what!