Sony RX100 Videos

Nick Hope

In January I took a trip to north Thailand with my new RX100, and I've made a couple of short videos with the footage I shot up there.

First is an atmospheric piece from Pang Ung. I had terrible trouble with slight zooming in and out, which I am attributing to having the RX100 set to autofocus(?). I didn't notice it while shooting and had to repair it later on the computer with the Deshaker filter for VirtualDub.

[video=youtube;YUvRj9e2o50]

We also went to visit the village of Kayan Tayar. One of the long-neck women sang and played us a tune, which is all recorded with the RX100's built-in microphone. I am no audio expert but it sounds good to me for a built-in mic.

[video=youtube;yBPYDLYAXvE]

Feedback is welcome, or feel free to add your RX100 videos to this thread.

nick! thank you so much for posting these. i've recently returned to film-making and purchased a RX100 as my back-up and travel video camera (my main unit will be a D800 with 24 & 85 1.4 primes).

your vids show not only your skill and talent, but the camera's capability. lovely! it inspires me.

i too have found the RX100 sometimes searches for auto-focus and thus does this small frantic shakey-zoom effect (not just in video mode, but in still mode too). i have found it worsens in the Intelligent modes. it lessens in the Program mode. next time out i'll work in Manual Focus and see is that helps, when the subject is stationary so that auto isn't a necessity.

keep up the fine work!

Thanks everyone :)

Although the RX100 does a pretty good job, I'm still seriously thinking of getting a Panasonic GH3 as my main camera.