Want advise to buy GF1 or any other portable DSLR

Discussion in 'Micro Four Thirds Forum' started by varunkrish, Sep 12, 2010.

1. varunkrish

varunkrish New to SC

Sep 12, 2010
    Hi guys,

Im currently using a Nikon D40 and find it to heavy to carry around. I'm a journalist and want good quality pics but Im having problem carrying D40 as i travel a lot.

Is the Panasonic GF1 good compared to the Olympus Ep1 and Sony Nex ?

What about the Leica X1 ?
    ________
    extreme q

• Like Like x 2
  2. Streetshooter

Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus

Jul 12, 2010
    Philly, Pa
    The GF1 is a great camera. It's very similar to the Pen cameras but has an improved AF system.
    The IQ is beautiful. The X1 is also a great camera but only if you can live with a fixed Focal Length.

Most shooters will have an X1 but also have another camera with interchangeable lenses or adjustable focal lengths. The discipline of a fixed focal length camera takes
    commitment and patience to find your personal vision. This usually takes it's toll on the shooter after a period of time and the lure of different focal lengths takes over.

With either a Pen or the GF1 you'll be cutting your load and still getting the images you want AND have the options of different lenses.
    Good luck in your quest.
    shooter

• Like Like x 1
  3. Ghosthunter

Ghosthunter boo!

Sep 8, 2010
    London UK
    Andy
    With the right lens the GF1 & E-P1&2 can match DSLR's for IQ, no problem. They have the added bonus of being small, light and portable and I much prefer to use a camera of this type rather than lug big gear around wit me.

• Like Like x 1
  4. BillN

BillN SC Hall of Famer

Aug 25, 2010
    S W France
    Bill
    Pentax make a small DSLR(s) - (the Kx?), and their glass is (very) good and reasonably priced - you can also use all Pentax MF glass from years back - (M screw fitting included) - cheap and good off Ebay