Where do your pictures reside?

Rajiv, that piece kind of made my brain hurt a little and reminded me of my art history days, especially when we came to "contemporary art". I think the premise at the end is already becoming reality, don't you? Though truth be told since I'm not a professional photographer, I probably am not the best person to really comment.

Let's see what others think - and what do you think?

Rajiv, that piece kind of made my brain hurt a little and reminded me of my art history days, especially when we came to "contemporary art". I think the premise at the end is already becoming reality, don't you? Though truth be told since I'm not a professional photographer, I probably am not the best person to really comment.

Let's see what others think - and what do you think?

BB, at a rudimentary level, I think I made a mistake buying a honking big camera, with the notion that I'd be making prints, while the reality lies in the fact that people are getting more comfortable viewing it on screens and electronic surfaces, the web and it's really about a shared experience, which is only possible because of the medium.

Print making (don't yell at me! just talking here) seems to me to be an act of hoarding where a picture becomes 'exclusive' and 'secretive' as opposed to the exact opposite where online you have no clue who is looking at your pictures. Unless you're shooting billboards, where my analogy falls flat.

I don't really know what to make of it, but I found the essay intriguing. I'll get back to you with an answer once I've had a bit of a think about it!

I guess whether or not it's a good development depends on two things.

One: will art works that are less photogenic be disadvantaged? (the author touches on this himself as well). I guess that's merely a balance issue.