Fuji x10 or x20

Mheato

Hi All, I am pretty new to photography in the sense that the camera I want to purchase would be my first step up from lower end point and shoot. I originally had considered getting a ILC camera but after some thought I dont know that what I would be using the camera for (street, general family shots, travel camera) would make an ILC even necessary. So after much research I have just fallen in love (and I havent even shot with one) the fuji x series. Seems like they will give me all that Im looking for with the options to learn the ins and outs of all the settings taking it beyond my old point and shoot. I had planned on getting an x20 (would love an x100s but out my budget) but after seeing shots from the x10 I was really impressed. So for someone like me starting from scratch would I be better suited to save up the extra money for the x20? Or would it a better option to save some money and get the x10? Would love to have a camera i can grow with, any thoughts? thanks for any opinions!

well ive had both and i'll give you my opinion: just starting out, you will be much happier with the x10 jpegs straight out of the camera. they are excellent and need virtually no tinkering, and thus offer a lot of positive feedback. if the results arent good, its not the camera!

the x20 does offer one advantage for a newcomer in that it shows exposure information (aperture setting and shutter speed), as well as confirm autofocus (via a green light) in the viewfinder. the x10 provides no info in the vf at all, though that info is readily available on the lcd.

the x20 does focus a little faster than the x10, but its out of camera jpegs are disappointing, and i dont think will just put that smile on your face upon download.

Hi and welcome!

Let me share my two cents based on my experience with both cameras (I actually too similar shots and compared them) and a discussion with a friend who faced a similar issue.